Ocean Action Hub

Meet your Moderators

Irena Zubcevic

Chief, Small Island Developing States, Oceans and Climate Branch, Division for Sustainable Development (DSD)
UN Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA)

Irena has been working in the area of sustainable development for over 20 years. Prior to her current position, she worked in DSD's Intergovernmental support and interagency branch supporting intergovernmental processes from the Commission on Sustainable Development, Rio+20, Samoa Conference to the negotiations for the post-2015 development agenda and the SDGs. Since the 2016 establishment of informal working groups for the Ocean Conference by the co-Presidents, Fiji and Sweden, she has been co-convening with the World Bank Group the informal working group that worked on SDG target 14.7.

Björn Gillsäter

Manager, New York Office

World Bank Group

Björn has over 20 years of experience working on multilateral affairs, both as a government official in the Ministry of Finance of Sweden and as a staff member of several international organizations including UNICEF, the African Development Bank, and the European Commission. Björn's previous experience with the Bank dates back to 2001-2005 when he was a Senior Advisor to the Nordic-Baltic Executive Director (a member of the Bank’s Board of Directors). Prior to this, Björn was the Head of Secretariat for the Multilateral Organisation Performance Assessment Network (MOPAN), a function hosted by the OECD and based in Paris, France. Björn holds an MA in International Affairs from the Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy, Tufts University, and Harvard Business School; an MA in Law and Economics from Hamburg, Gent, and Aix-en-Provence; and a BA in Economics and Political Science from the University of Lund, Sweden.